Hands on Photoshop

So today I actually got to edit some pictures on Photoshop.  I really loved the learning experience and how much can be done on Photoshop. Here is what I did today:

Here’s a picture of Jason I took couple weeks ago.  For this shot, I used healing brush for few blemishes and auto contrast to give his face a nice glowing color.

unedited:

img_0009

retouched:

img_0009Jason

I took Natalie’s profile picture that I also took a couple of weeks ago and used clone stamp to remove the flash from her sunglasses and cropped the head room.

unedited:

img_0017

This is edited image:

img_0017 copy

The following are the images I was given to edit by professor.

For this picture, I decided to try out black and white layer, also added some color adjust and cropped the image to land the girl on the rule of thirds.

IMG_4948

IMG_4948

For this picture of a couple talking, I decided to do free transform to tilt, auto contrast and cropped the head room.

IMG_3743

edited:

IMG_3743 copy

 

 

 

For this shot of a girl, I simply cropped the tree out and applied auto color, auto contrast and auto tone. Her hair looks brighter and the tree isn’t distracting from the main focus of the picture – the girl.

IMG_3742

here is how it looks edited:

IMG_3742 copy

For this picture of a couple in front of a red figure, I got to use content aware tool and to remove that figure from the bottom right corner of the picture. I also cropped the picture, to center the couple.

IMG_3739

Here’s the edited image:

IMG_3739

This picture is actually of my professor Sandhouse who runs marathons (in blue t-shirt and blue cap).  For this picture I decided to apply the following tools; auto color, crop and free transform to tilt.

Gator Gallop 2009 3

Here is the edited image:

Gator Gallop 2009 3

For this image of “workout gang”, I utilized the following tools; content aware (to remove yellow tape) and crop to center the group.

Clone Stamp

Here’s the edited image:

Clone Stamp copy

For this image of a group of friends, I used content aware tool to remove mail box, brought up saturation to add color and cropped the sky to give image some balance (rule of thirds).

IMG_1175

Here’s how the edit turned out:

IMG_1175

For this picture of a woman, I decided to use red eye tool to remove red eye glare, added color to the face with a burn tool and cropped the image.

IMG_1195

Here is the final result after all the edit:

IMG_1195 copy

For the couple’s shot, I decided to use clone stamp to remove reflection from camera flash and applied auto contrast, auto color and auto tone which evened out the colors and brightened up the couple.  I decided not to tilt the image, because I actually liked the tilted buildings in the background.

IMG_1202

Here’s the edited image:

IMG_1202

Girls group shot: this image looked fine to me so I simply cropped it to center the group and added auto contrast to bring out colors of the shot.

IMG_1218

edited:

IMG_1218 copy

So here is all that I learned/ edited today. I am pretty proud of myself.

Please share your ideas about the most useful tools in Photoshop as well as what would you have done to the raw images.

Cheers !

Leave a Reply

